Among Smithtown’s underappreciated examples of exceptional 20th-century architecture is a house designed by Gustav Stickley. Originally built in 1912 as a private residence for Mr. and Mrs. Frederick J. Wagner, the house has served as a rectory since the mid-20th century.
In 2014, the Preservation Long Island recognized Ms. Mac Griswold for The Manor: Three Centuries at a Slave Plantation on Long Island, a book that brings to life three centuries of history at Sylvester Manor, one of Long Island’s rare surviving 18th century plantations located on Shelter Island.
Preservation Long Island is home to an extraordinary collection of regional artworks and artifacts that document Long Island’s ever changing landscape, its rich history, and the people who have called it home.
Headquarters for Preservation Long Island, the Cold Spring Harbor Methodist Episcopal Church was built in 1842 by Israel Valentine during the heyday of whaling on a site acquired from Judge Richard M. Conklin, one of the partners in the Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Company. After serving its congregation for 149 […]
We recently joined Governor Andrew Cuomo and several representatives from the State Parks Regional Office at the opening ceremony for the newly restored Marine Dining Room at Jones Beach State Park’s West Bathhouse.
Located just beyond Old Town Hall Historic District, the Old Huntington Firehouse at 235 Main Street is one of the community’s great civic buildings. Unfortunately, the significance of the firehouse as an important site of civic heritage has never been officially recognized.