September 15th is Culper Spy Day and Preservation Long Island is jumping into the action by opening the Sherwood-Jayne House (ca. 1730) in East Setauket for tours, cider, and donuts. But, Patriots beware! Loyalist William “Big Bill” Jayne II (1732–1802) will be prowling the premises. This is the 4th year that organizations […]
Preservation Long Island’s archive of 1960s photos and research materials is informing restoration work at the Homan-Gerard House.
Among Smithtown’s underappreciated examples of exceptional 20th-century architecture is a house designed by Gustav Stickley. Originally built in 1912 as a private residence for Mr. and Mrs. Frederick J. Wagner, the house has served as a rectory since the mid-20th century.
Preservation Long Island is home to an extraordinary collection of regional artworks and artifacts that document Long Island’s ever changing landscape, its rich history, and the people who have called it home.
We recently joined Governor Andrew Cuomo and several representatives from the State Parks Regional Office at the opening ceremony for the newly restored Marine Dining Room at Jones Beach State Park’s West Bathhouse.
Preservation Long Island recently unveiled a new poster about the history and design of the Custom House fence in Sag Harbor! We invite you to visit the Custom House to learn more about one of the most elaborately crafted 19th-century fences on Long Island!